CHRISTMAS GREETINGS FROM HAITI

Posted: December 25, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

It is 4:00 AM on Christmas morning. As I sit here typing I can hear the sounds of Haiti: Roosters are calling into the darkness and dogs are barking at shadows. In the background, I hear the white noise of our generator sending electricity into our house. We have been without city power since yesterday afternoon and the batteries that we run off of simply ran out of juice. So they are getting their Christmas morning charge as the diesel generator rumbles on sending electricity into the house and charging the batteries.  Sipping freshly ground coffee, with the mosquitoes hovering nearby but not able to find a place to land as I have had an early morning dose of mosquito spray on my exposed skin, I am thinking about my day to come.

 

In several hours our house will be full with perhaps up to forty people that will be here to celebrate a Christmas meal and good fellowship. Beth has been busy cooking turkeys and pies; others will be bringing food, laughter and encouragement as we join together to celebrate the birth of Christ and as we take this time to strengthen one another through good fellowship.

 

Beth excels at such activities as she works to provide for those, who are far from home, a bit of comfort as they are away from their families. Plus it serves as a distraction as are our own children and grand children are not with us.

 

Later this morning I will go going to the outdoor market, where I will see the same people as I would on any other day, to buy some more potatoes, as Beth told me that we need more. The poor can’t afford to take a day off from trying to provide for their families. I am sure that by the time I leave the house, several more items will be added to her list as she wants to be sure that there is enough food for all that come.

 

 

P1010402

 

 

There are a few others things that I have to do to be helpful and to stay out of the way. I have to put my motorcycle which I park in the living room outside. I put a Christmas ornament on it to kind of add to the Christmas tree but Beth still wants it out (Don’t let the NY Yankees hat spoil your Christmas). I feel that people can just walk around it, but Beth doesn’t think so. I have a shelf to put up in the bathroom where we can’t use the sink because it won’t drain. I have a few piles of stuff that I have to move before people come.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4705

 

 

Last night we had a Christmas Eve service at church and it was a good way to get into the Christmas mood, so to speak. We here are busy and especially so as we enter the last week of 2008. I heard someone describe Heartline as a busy place for busy people to become busier.

 

 

 

 

 

I feel in awe of God that He would reach out to mankind that had largely turned from Him. What an incredible thing it is that Christ came and that He is Immanuel-GOD WITH US.

 

I recently wrote for our Port-au-Prince Fellowship e-letter:

 

As we enter the year 2009, we, of course, make what is traditionally called New Year’s resolutions. We may commit to serve God more fully, to be more faithful to Him, to pray and read His word more faithfully.

 

While preparing for our weekly Bible study on the book of James I felt God speak to my heart about living wisely and walking in His wisdom.

 

James 3:13, 17, 18 NCV

 

13-Are there those among you who are truly wise and understanding? Then they should show it by living right and doing good things with a gentleness that comes from wisdom. 17-But the wisdom that comes from God is first of all pure, then peaceful, gentle and easy to please. This wisdom is always ready to help those who are troubled and to do good for others. It is always fair and honest. 18- People who work for peace in a peaceful way plant a good crop of right-living.

 

Let us make a commitment to make a difference by ourselves being different; by walking in God’s wisdom.

 

 

May the Lord’s richest blessings be yours as you celebrate the birth of Christ and as you share God’s great gift with others.

 

John McHoul

Leave a Reply

