FINGERNAIL HURTING MOTO RIDER

Posted: February 25, 2009 in Uncategorized

Yesterday our church, Port-au-Prince Fellowship, had a day of activities to take the place of Carnival activities.  We had basketball, soccer, corn hole, DVDS, and, of course, food.  I, in a moment of complete insanity, challenged 5 younger, much younger guys to beat four others, and me, three of whom are kind of old, as well, to a basketball game.
Well to make a long, sorry story short, we beat the young guys although it has been a couple of years since a couple of us had played.  The strategy was simple: The sooner we could score, the sooner we could get off the court and not return.  And it worked, except it didn’t take long before I started to feel sore; Beth calls it muscle awareness but when I looked at myself in the mirror I don’t see many muscles.
Today it seems that even my fingernails hurt and to compound that, I this morning, went on a mountain road/large path motorcycle ride with three others: Rod, Dan and Ted.  I can’t remember the last time I got away from the office/work to just kind of relax.  Although I’m not sure if relaxing is what we did.  When you ride a motorcycle in Haiti you learn the meaning of what it is to have multiple near death experiences each mile that you ride.  Once we got to the mountain, the winding roads were rocky, slippery, and bone shaking.  I kind of think that it was more the adrenalin rush of zooming over the roads that we craved more than a relaxing motorcycle ride.   I’m thinking that a relaxing motorcycle ride in Haiti is an oxymoron. 
We did stop and eat the lunch that we brought with us and we did have a time of prayer.  While praying we began to feel raindrops and for sure didn’t want to ride the mountain roads/paths in the rain.  So with a case of get homeitis we drove quickly to outrun the rain.
Having done that and now on the main road we stopped at a place and enjoyed ice cream and other stuff.  I had to feed my muscles that I still can’t see.
I am going to need a few days to recover from playing basketball and from my relaxing day off and hope that sometime this week my fingernails will stop hurting.

PS:  We are going to try to have one such relaxing day each month.

John Moto McHoul

Comments
  1. Unknown says:

    Those motos look dangerous. The rain and pain in your body is probably God\’s punishment for all the grief you give me about the motorcycle. 🙂

  2. John says:

    Brother, how I so wish that you could share the pain!

Leave a Reply

