TRYING TO STAY ON TOP OF THINGS

Posted: March 24, 2009 in Uncategorized

Yesterday morning one of the security guards came to the office and said that he wanted to talk to me about his 12 sick days that he gets yearly.   We have armed security at my house, the two crèches, and at the women’s center.  The guards work 6 days a week from 6:00 PM to 6:00 AM.    They receive, after one year of work 15 days vacation, which is the law, and one sick day per month.  If at the end of the year, they have not used up their sick days I, then, will pay them for their unused days.  I as well will buy back their vacation time or a portion of it if they would like that.  Usually, a guard will take several days vacation and I will buy back the remaining days.
I a few weeks back had already bought back this guard’s vacation days and his sick days as well.  Now he was telling me that he should be paid for the 12 sick days that he is working, in addition to the money I had already given him for his sick days, because he is now in essence working as a fill in for the guy who would have been working in his place if he had taken sick days.  
It took me a while to understand what he was saying, and I starting making noises about it before he, if I follow the logic, could ask to be paid again for the 15 days vacation days that I already purchased, but that he would be working in essence as a fill in for himself.

Our lovely daughter Morgan is coming in on Thursday and we are making mental and financial preparation.  She will come in like a storm and alter our lives for a few days.  We, of course, will take her out to eat a few times and she will commandeer one of Beth’s phones and Beth’s car as well and will spend time with her friends.  If what happens this time is like the other times that she has visited, we will start getting phone calls on the day of her arrival asking to talk to Morgan. 

It has been a year since I have been in the States and since I have seen our children and grandchildren.  I will spend about a week in the States in April and Morgan has asked us to visit with her boyfriend’s parents.  I’m not sure what that is all about.

Troy Livesay spoke at church this past Sunday.  He spoke about our identity and read from Romans 8:12-19.  I especially like how verse 12 reads in the New Living Translation:  “So, dear brothers and sisters, you have no obligation whatsoever to do what your sinful nature urges you to do.”

Last week, I spent some time with a missionary named Curt.  He and his wife have been in Haiti for 10 years but they still talk like they are sitting on their front porch in the West Virginian Mountains.  I enjoy listening to them talk, especially when they talk to one another, which is when they really swing into stuff that I have to strain to  understand.  Since I am from Boston, he and I spend a lot of saying to one another, “What” or “Say that again” or “Say what” or “Say that in English.”  He, while we were driving, told me about how he came to Christ and then he started crying which made it more difficult to understand his words but clearly easier to see and understand his heart.

John  McHoul

Leave a Reply

