FISH OUT OF WATER

Posted: April 23, 2009 in Uncategorized
I am sitting inside the waiting room at the Port-au-Prince airport waiting to board a flight to Miami where I will meet Beth who is flying in from Boston, after being at the Boston Marathon.  We then will fly together to spend a week with our kids.  A week is about all that they can take of seeing us.

Last night and this morning I have had major diarrhea  (just being able to spell diarrhea without needing the spell checker should say something) which is not a good thing especially if your on a flight from or to Haiti.  When we go on village trips we always bring with us toilet tissue just in case and so it is with flights from and to Haiti, it is a good thing to have toilet tissue because you may find that it has disappeared out of the bathrooms.

While waiting in line to check in, there was a picture sign with items shown that are prohibited to be brought on the plane.  There was a picture of a knife, scissors, an aerosol spray bottle, a gun, and a bomb.  I feel comforted that we are not allowed to take bombs on the plane. 

It has been about a year since I have been in the departure room but I several times have been to the airport picking up and dropping off people. 

The plane departed Port-au-Prince about 75 minutes late and I was thinking that if I get tied up at customs in Miami that I will miss Beth at the gate for the flight to Tampa.  The flight was fine and I was fortunate not to be in the seat directly next to, that is about 2 feet from one of the toilets.  I was in the seat behind the seat.  The guy in that seat had to help open and shut the little door to the toilet 23 times in the short flight to Miami.  I’m thinking that the seats next to the toilets ought to be deeply discounted.  I did get to the gate with about 15 minutes to spare.  Beth was already waiting there for me.

Our Sam and daughter in law and their two girls picked us up at the airport and we drove to Sarasota where they live.  We are staying in a nice little trailer but the first thing I did when getting inside was to turn off the air conditioning. 

Today we went to an aquarium in Tampa.  It was nice and it had some sharks; but they seems much less deadly than the sharks that we interact with in the adoption process in Haiti.

Tonight our son, who is a chef, is cooking for us.   I asked him if we would cook things that I can pronounce.  He said that he would.  We as well tonight will be meeting our daughter’s boyfriend and then I am told we will meet his parents before we head back to Haiti in a few days.  His name is Tony.  I hope that he is nervous to meet us. 
 
More later from this fish out of water in Sarasota.

John

Comments
  1. Lucas says:

    at least you can have a whoppa

  2. John says:

    Yeah, and loving it!

  3. Tim says:

    Do you have church plans for Sunday? It would be fun to have you come to Tampa Covenant, or to come see the Tilapia/Hydroponics project. We look forward to seeing you soon, whether here or there. Tim 813-842-8467

  4. John says:

    I will check.

  5. Jared says:

    Your humor is pretty subtle sometimes, John. I can definately appreciate it… haha

Leave a Reply

