TRUCK and CHIROPRACTIC SERVICE

Posted: May 30, 2009 in Uncategorized
We have been busy with adoptive parents who came to bring their children home, and with an adoptive mom who has come with four of her children, three who were  adopted from Maranatha, and with a friend visiting with two of her children.

Our house is strewn with mattresses and cots and people and the stuff that people leave in their wake.  This week we have brought two adopted children to see their birth towns and for one of them to see her birth family.  This is no easy thing and it means that the loaded truck leaves early in the morning for a whole day of traveling some of which is on pretty bad roads.

My truck is 10 years old and it has traveled over 136,000 miles over the Haitian roads which must be equal to a billion or so miles on the US roads.  This week I have had a few people who have stopped me while driving to tell me that my tie rods are bad and one of the wheel is going to come loose.  I know that and am trying to make it though Sunday when I typically have up to 20 people in and on the pick up as I go to church.  And then Monday I will work on having the truck repaired.  It needs a bunch of work and this will probably take a few days.

It is amazing how many people can fit in and on this Toyota double cab pick up.  I think that our record amount is 27 people.  A few months ago, I got stopped by the police on the way to church and was told that I had too many people in the back of the truck.  Looking at the people I told him that I had so many people that no one could fall out because they were in so tightly that they would all have to fall out together,  en mass.   He looked at them and looked at me and laughed and told me to go.  We did make it to church and no one not even all of them together fell out.

Riding in the back of the truck seems to be one of the favorite things for young visitors to do.  I guess it largely is not allowed in the States so  it is kind of our answer to one of those head spinning, gut wrenching amusement rides combined with an obstacle course of people, animals, road side vendors, broken down vehicles, pot holes, piles of trash, flooded streets, and a gazillion other vehicles.

We are having a lot of visitors this summer with one of the groups having 30 people.  We are still wondering how we will transport 30 people around and how we will get them at the airport with all of the supplies that they will be bringing.  I am kind of thinking of 30 donkeys, one for each person with luggage in tow.

Shortly I will probably start through our e-letters and maybe sneak an appeal or two in the blog coming with my empty cup trying to raise the funds needed to purchase a commercial type truck in which we can fit a few dozen people and then with the stand up rule several dozen people.

I have often thought that perhaps we can start a chiropractic service in Haiti.  People will back problems could lie down in the back of the pick up and could just stay there as we drive around in our normal routine.  Years ago I hurt my neck and went to a chiropractor guy who had a busy office or offices.  He had different rooms that he would call by the color of the room.  He for example would tell the nurse (not sure if that is the correct term) to take the patient to the green room or the red room and so on.   Well I was put into a room, I can’t remember the color, and the chiropractor put four  pad things hooked to a machine on base of my neck.  So when one would go off my head/neck would jerk in that direction and well you understand.  Well it seems that he set the settings on the neck machine a little too high and I was kind of like one of those bobble things that people have on the dash on their cars.  My head and neck were moving all over the place.  It didn’t seem to help.
I had insurance at the time and so that was good.  He told me that he would try cold therapy and I thought that sounded better than bobble therapy and the good news was that the insurance would pay for it and that I could do the cold therapy at home.  No more colored rooms.  So he left the room and came back with one of those gel packs that you put in the freezer and when it gets cold you put it on your neck.  I would like to know what the insurance company paid for the cold therapy.  My neck eventually got better and I can’t remember if it was the bobble therapy or the cold therapy or the by its self therapy, but it stopped hurting.

Anyways, I’m thinking that it would be hard for us to do cold therapy here as it is kind of hot although we can buy huge blocks of ice and maybe put it on top of the person in the back of the truck.  Maybe cold therapy would be like a last resort, but I know that we could do heat therapy.  This would be leaving the truck directly in the sun with the patient having therapy in the 100 plus degree heat.  If that doesn’t help, maybe we could do heat/fragrance therapy.  That would be leaving the patient in the truck in the 100 plus degree heat next to one of our several foot high piles of garbage that has been roasting for several days.  I’m kind of thinking that this would cause the patient to forget about the bad back. 
I don’t know, I’m just kind of thinking out loud, but hey if they have insurance…

John McHoul

Comments
  1. Sherri says:

    Hey, you better forget the donkey idea or I may have to forget the suitcase that has the diet cokes in it! 🙂

  2. Tara says:

    Hey -Since the word is that EDH will be gone for a month or more — maybe you want to let the visitors know what they are in for — this is payback because you like to torture visitors — now all missionaries are paying for it — thanks a lot!

  3. John says:

    No electricity for a month and I was shooting for three months.

  4. John says:

    OK 29 donkeys and 1 horse

Leave a Reply

