HAITI LIFE

Posted: June 5, 2009 in Uncategorized
The mechanic working on my truck came and found me early yesterday morning  while Dan and I were still having a time of prayer together.
He said that he finished the work on my truck and he came for the rest of the money.  When it was all said and done, although when working on vehicles here in Haiti it is NEVER alls said and done, it cost $1200.00 USD to get the pickup up and running.
The next vehicle to spend time with this mechanic will be the Suzuki that Junior drives.  It really needs work and we expect it to be in the shop for two weeks. We are trying to get Beth’s vehicle through the summer since we have a ton of visitors coming and we won’t have time to give it to the mechanic.  The Haitians are amazing in what they do to keep vehicles on the road and once you have had a Haitian under the tree type mechanic work on your vehicle it is unlikely that an American mechanic will really be able to figure it out.

Yesterday I spent a few hours downtown in the area where there are thousands of people selling and tens of thousands of people buying.  It is crowded, muddy, smelly from all the trash, hot, noisy, and a great place to be.  While I was there I got a call telling me that there were demonstrations downtown and that students were throwing rocks and the police were shooting tear gas.  Well I didn’t see any of that where I was and I’m not sure what that was all about.  But it sounds like just another day in Haiti.

It has been said that in Haiti you should believe nothing that you hear and only half of what you see.  Our city electricity had up to this morning at 12:08 AM been non existent for going on 8 days.  The word was that there was a fire in a substation a few miles from our area and in the process of extinguishing the fire a significant amount of damage occurred.  And so repairs wouldn’t even begin until about June 15th and then the electricity would gradually be restored.  Well this morning at 12:08 the power came on and we had it for about 7 hours before it was taken.  I am glad that we had power this morning and I’m not sure when we’ll get it again, but such is life in Haiti.

Last week I posted a link about a pastor in the San Deigo area who was told that he couldn’t have a Bible study in his home unless he paid a bunch of money to first get a permit.  I did invite you to come to Haiti where we would take you to a free Bible study.  Well it seems that the city of San Deigo has reversed its policy and now the pastor and others can now have Bible studies at no charge.  Read about it: Bible Study At No Charge

I came across some good stuff especially for women.  Check it out: A Special Message for Women: Ruth’s Journey from Shame to Significance

I pray that today will be a most special day and that you will impact others with the love of Christ.

John McHoul

Leave a Reply

