Surrender

Posted: June 27, 2009 in Uncategorized
SELF- INTEREST

Tomorrow in church I will be speaking on living a life of surrender.  As I have been working on the message, it occurred to me that perhaps one of the greatest hindrances to surrender to Christ in the life of the believer is self-interest. 

Self-interest can be described as: “Regard for one’s own interest or advantage” and this certainly is outside of what we see in scripture.  I think of Paul’s words in Philippians 2: 3, 4:

3-Do nothing from selfish or empty conceit, but with humility of mind let each of you regard one another as more important that himself, 4-do not merely look out for your own interests, but also for the interests of others.

I have come across a couple of quotes by David Livingstone that I find inspiring and challenging:

•    “I will place no value on anything I have or may possess except in relation to the kingdom of Christ.”
•    “Without Christ, not one step, with Him, anywhere.”

This past week we had a group of 31 from Indiana spend several days with us; and later this afternoon we will have a group of 13 from Texas spend about a week with us.    This will be the first Haiti visit for the members of the Texas group and it is always interesting to see the impact that Haiti has on first timers.   For most they will be touched and changed as they move on in serving Christ. 

For a few, the visit to Haiti will be like a slow growing seed, with stuff happening beneath the surface with ensuing changes of priorities, dreams, plans, and lifestyle. 

It is not unusual for me to receive an e-mail that reads something like this.  “John, you may not remember me, my name is ___________and I stayed with you and Beth 5 five years ago with a group from____________.  Ever since my time in Haiti, God has been speaking to me and now I am ready to serve Him on the mission field.” 

Not all are called to be missionaries or pastors but all us are called to present our lives as living and holy sacrifices to God… (Romans 12:1).

Let me end this blog with these words:

"The will of God — nothing less, nothing more, nothing else." — F. E. Marsh (also attributed to Bobby Richardson)

John McHoul

Leave a Reply

