THE MIDWIVES ARE COMING

Posted: July 24, 2009 in Uncategorized
I’ve felt a tad tired lately which must be a combination of the hots days of July and our busy lifestyles.  

We over the past several weeks have had visitors from Florida, Georgia, Michigan, Wisconsin, Texas, Indiana, Ohio, Minnesota, and Canada.  Our daughter Morgan comes the end of this month and she is like having 10 visitors as our lives get turned around.

It is always encouraging when we finish an adoption and just yesterday I received the completed adoption papers of an adoption that we have been doing for a missionary couple here in Haiti.  I expect that we within the next several weeks will have several more adoptions completed.

Our women’s program is amazing.  Now, I don’t have much to do with it as I am smart enough to stay out of the way when women with a vision to make a difference are at work.  But I am close enough to give money when needed.

Now Beth and I have been married for 35 years and clearly there are times when she tells me stuff when I am not listening.  Beth is studying to be a midwife and she said that she told me that we will regularly be having midwives with us.  It seems that we as well will be the lodging place for midwives that fly into the country and have to wait the next day to travel to the place where they will be doing midwife stuff.  I am getting nervous especially as I think of the dinner table and the conversation that will be going on.  I suspect that I will not take part in most of the midwife talk about women’s body stuff and delivering baby stuff.  But when we have midwives with us we could serve just mash potatoes for dinner.  We could call it the Midwife Special and during dinner they could use the mash potatoes to make little mother, baby, and midwife figures to help illustrate their midwife birth stories.  Now I know that God has made us all different but without saying much more, it seems that some are a lot different than what is normal (Me) and the midwives I have met are…

I heard this the other day from Troy Livesay who said that he heard it from someone who said that they heard a fellow missionary say it while speaking.  He said or least he is purported to have said in referring to all the needs in Haiti, "That coming to Haiti is like being a mosquito in a nudist colony, you don’t know where to start."   Sounds about right!

John

Comments
  1. kathy says:

    I am excited to hear of Beth\’s midwifery training. Although I am an Indiana OB nurse working in a hospital, I think midwives are the greatest; my two grandsons were caught by midwives!Kathy, Indiana

  2. John says:

    Well we will have four midwives staying at our house tonight. Should be interesting!

Leave a Reply

