John the Weak

Posted: September 12, 2009 in Uncategorized
Today our church, Port-au-Prince Fellowship, had a time when those interested in joining the worship teams came to the church to sing or play their instruments as we are looking to add members to our worship teams.  I was thrilled to see 12 people show up and I felt a bit inadequate to see a boy about 10 years old come with his little scuffed up keyboard in hand, with a bunch of third world batteries for the keyboard in his pockets.  The little keyboard resembled more a toy than an instruments.  But still he came.  And when given his chance to play along side some of our regular musicians he clearly showed that he could play.  We moved him to our regular keyboard and he was able to play along by ear with the musicians.   Looking at him while he was playing and hearing the keyboard come to life I felt quite inadequate and ill prepared to be the pastor of this church, to be the one partly responsible to speak into the life of this boy and to help him develop his gifts for the Lord’s use. 
Our church has talented musicians and singers who desire to lead us in worship.  Visitors often comment that one of the highlights of their visit to Haiti is attending Port-u-Prince Fellowship and especially being part of our worship.  Looking at some of our talented musicians, I couldn’t help but wonder if they were once like this little boy, young, full of great potential and looking up to those older and more accomplished.  I  am going to be sure tomorrow in church that I speak to our musicians about speaking into the life of this boy and help him develop the talent that he has. 

We have a another men’s seminar coming up in October with the topic being: BECOMING A MAN OF INTEGRITY.  Check out the key verse:
Prov. 10:9 – “The man of integrity walks securely, but he who takes crooked paths will be found out.
WOW, what a strong, clear, disturbing verse!  I look forward to the seminar.

I came home yesterday afternoon and told Beth that I just found out something that surprised me or even shocked me.  Tom, our bean counter is doing bean counter stuff and he asked about how much we pay those that work for Heartline in Haiti.  I for some time have told people that we have 30 people that we employ but when I got adding it all up and looking at the numbers, I saw that Heartline has 47 Haitians that work with us and 4 American families also.  Forty-seven people, YIKES, where did they all come from, how did we end up with 47 people and where would we be without them?  We are blessed to have them.  YIKES, 47 people!

We are still playing vehicle tag as Beth’s vehicle is still being repaired.  I am spending a lot more time on the motorcycle, which I love, as Beth uses my truck.  I am thankful for those who have given toward our vehicle fund.  I want my truck back soon.

Beth is traveling next week to Florida to be there when our son and daughter-in-law have their third child and our third grand child.  

We recently had some visitors to whom I gave a tour of the children’s home and the women’s center.  It is not unusual for me to give such a tour at least twice a week.  These visitors returned to the States and said to their friend that we also know that they loved visiting the Heartline mission and it seems that John (me) was an old hippie.  I wonder what made them think that.

Church is tomorrow and one of the easiest things I do is select what to wear.  It will be the same shirt and pants for the whole year.  This really makes life so much easier and in my mind just makes sense.  I am amazed that others  I know don’t follow my example.  I am starting to feel a bit anxious as in about 4 months I will  choose my church shirt and pants for 2010.  This I see as a character weakness, a fear of what people say or think which makes me change church clothes every year.  I mean why not every 2, 3, or ten years.  I am discouraged to admit what people think matters so much to me.  That must be why I cut my hair twice a year.  Clearly it is because of peer pressure. 

John the weak

Comments
  1. Sherri says:

    Wow, that is awesome you can employ so many Haitians!

  2. John says:

    Honestly, it overwhelms me a bit.

  3. Judy says:

    Okay I admit that I am the one that called you an old hippie, however, I pray that they also told you it was with the highest level of respect. I am working on this end to secure some of the itrms on Beth\’s list and will be storing them here. By the way I like old hippies, they are comfortable in their own skins. In HIS Service and in Yours Judy Peace Out

  4. John says:

    Judy,I\’m still amazed at how you could tell. I sold my bright orange VW years ago to a couple who cut a round hole in the floor so that their kids could go the bathroom without having to stop at the rest stop.Groovy!

  5. Judy says:

    okay who are the friends we have in common? i need to get ahhhh i mean thank them.

  6. Sherri says:

    Cool dude! Isn\’t overwhelmed just a way of life in Haiti?!

  7. Sherri says:

    By the way, loved the Proverbs 10:9 scripture! Has my little buddy still been coming to church?

  8. John says:

    The Proverbs 10:9 scripture scares the life into me.Perhaps the strange thing is that cutting the hole in the floor of the VW bus makes such sense.

Leave a Reply

