THINGS I’VE SEEN RECENTLY AND CAR WOES

Posted: October 13, 2009 in Uncategorized
BUSY

We are super busy here with just the regular daily activities of running two children’s homes, the women’s center, and our church Port au Prince Fellowship.  I feel tired just thinking about all that we are involved in and so when people ask what I do in Haiti, I often say that I take care of children and leave all the other stuff to talk about some other day.

This past week our super team of midwives and helpers delivered two babies: One was a baby of a missionary who simply decided that the Heartline Team was the way to go and the other was the baby of an HIV infected lady in our program.

Our church has been having monthly men’s seminar with Integrity as the general topic.  Last week’s seminar was on Integrity of Finances and Speech.  During the seminar Roger, the teacher, allowed for a question and comment time.  It was certainly a learning experience as it gave me insight into how these young men think and some of the situations that they face.

Two questions in particular stand out as I write this blog.

1, If I come to your house and steal something and two weeks later come back and tell you that I took it, did I really steal it.

2, If I am at home with my brother and someone comes to the gate to see him and if my brother tells me to tell the visitor that he is not home and I do so, then who is the liar, me or my brother.

THINGS I SAW IN THE PAST SEVERAL DAYS:

1, Now walking the streets of Haiti for a physically sighted person is a challenge.  This week I saw 4 physically blinded people walking along with their canes in various places in my travels.

2, I saw two separate vehicles that lost one of its front tires while they were moving and the tires go on rolling down the street.  The first one happen to a vehicle as it was going down a hill.  So while the vehicle stopped the tire kept going.  The second one happen to a vehicle that was being towed.  The front tire fell off and rolled down the street.  There were a bunch of students and even some police who saw it and all started laughing and cheering, even the police.  Oh and those with me were laughing and me too.  The vehicle towing the one that had lost its tire stopped for several seconds and it seems that the driver decided that the tire wasn’t essential and he kept on going.  I’m not sure if they came back for the tire.

3, Today I saw a man who I have seen several times in a wheel chair who wheels out to cars that are stuck in traffic, which is often, and he holds his hand out for money.  Today I saw him in the same spot and I saw someone hit him in the head and  did the man in the wheel chair ever take off after the head hitter.  He took off after him as quickly as his two feet could carry him as he hopped out of the wheel chair and chased the head hitter
down.  I guess begging can be more lucrative from a wheel chair than on two feet.

IT WAS VOODOO

Yesterday while downtown I stopped to buy some fruit  in front of the post office.  I have done this for years and yesterday I bought from a lady that I hadn’t seen for about a year.  I asked her where she had been and she told me that one of the other ladies that sells fruit, the black lady (as if that would  narrowed it down) put a voodoo curse on her.  She said that she lost the child that she was pregnant with and she was sick under the spell of the voodoo curse.  She told me she is now free and last Sunday she and some friends did a voodoo thing to put a curse on the black lady who I guess wasn’t there but I couldn’t be certain since everyone there was black.

CAR WOES:

Our vehicle woes continue as my truck goes into the shop tomorrow morning.  This will bring us down to one motorcycle and our feet.  Beth’s car has been broken since August and we hope to have it back soon.  The pieces have been hard to find and we actually had to get the oil pump in the Dominican Republic.  A friend who is a pilot and flies there once a week was able to find one for us.
Now the roads here are bad and it doesn’t seem at least where we travel getting any better and so a vehicle takes a lot of abuse.  Add to that the groups that we have that we stuff into the vehicle and the jam packed Sunday church crowd and a vehicle not intended for such abuse breaks down.  We have been raising funds for a truck that we can use to transports groups and visitors and have so far raised $27,408.  We need to reach $40,000 to be able to purchase the group/visitor truck in which we can handle at least 30 people and all their supplies as well. And save Beth’s and John’s vehicles.

WE REALLY NEED YOUR HELP WITH THIS AND ESPECIALLY APPEAL TO THOSE WHO HAVE BEEN SARDINED IN BETH’S VEHICLE OR IN AND ON MY VEHICLE.  OUR VEHICLES SIMPLY CAN NOT TAKE THE WEAR AND TEAR ANY LONGER. 

You can give via paypal or Google Checkout by clicking on Vehicle Campaign.  Thank you in advance as we look to get this truck ASAP!!!

You can also give by snail mail at:

Heartline Ministries
PO Box 898
Sunnyside, WA 98944


URGENCY OF EVANGELIZING CHILDREN

A friend sent me the following link, check it out.

URGENCY OF EVANGELIZING CHILDREN

As I sit here typing it is raining big time and our roof which leaks but which leaks more after we had a group come in to fix the leaks is leaking.

God Bless Special,

John

Comments
  1. Sherri says:

    Thanks for the humorous stories! And sorry about your leaky roof…… those darn hicks from Indiana!! 🙂

  2. John says:

    No problem, when it\’s not raining, I don\’t even notice the leaks.

Leave a Reply

