BACK IN HAITI

Posted: October 30, 2009 in Uncategorized
It is good to be back in Haiti.  Junior and I arrived back in Port-au-Prince at about 11:45 today.  It was great to see our kids and grandkids and to see our friends the Rices and the Rogers, and Joseph, Bethsabe, and Dina. We arrived about an hour late due to the plane leaving Miami late because the toilets weren’t working.   It didn’t seem like a big deal to me but I didn’t have to go the bathroom.

It is good to be home!  It was good to be in the States, but 10 days is too long.  I think 5 to 7 days is long enough to be out of Haiti.

It is good to feel hot once again.  I went to the store and saw a guy with his car hood up whacking his battery and his car started.  It is good to be home.
Beth’s car is again being fixed.  The generator at the women’s center is still broken and the 12 batteries for the inverter seem shot.  IT IS GOOD TO BE HOME.

I told the office staff that we will really get to work on Monday and Carine, our secretary informed me that Monday is a national holiday.  She called it "Dead Day."  I let her know that she can take it off when she is dead, but while she is living it isn’t a holiday.

Best Line: Tony our daughter’s boyfriend told me that when he and Morgan first started going to the Dollar Store, she would keep asking him how much different items cost.  His response, "Well, it is a Dollar Store." 

Very much enjoyed watching  the Rices’ son Ian in action.  Although he is only 12 years old, he is quite funny and creative and the best is yet to come.

My son Sam hinted at first and then just down right told me that it is time for me to get a haircut.  I assured him that I was planning on getting one in February 2010.  He looked at my longish, bushy (some would say messy) hair shook his and didn’t say much until all the next days that I was there.  It seems a bit unusual to have a son tell his father that his hair is too long.  Oh, well I’m just actively waiting for the hippie days to return.  Today Tara Livesay said that it would look better if I combed my hair. She must have meant brushed, since my hair is too thick for a comb.  Now clearly some people have hair that simply is not meant to be combed or brushed.  And that would be mine.

Yet it is good to be home!!!

There is no place like home!

John

PS:  If you haven’t recently checked out our Heartline Runners’ Blog.  Click here for some inspiring stories and  information on how you can sponsor a runner.

Comments
  1. Tara says:

    CORRECTION: Tara Livesay told you that you look like Bozo the Clown because it sticks out on the sides and is flat (like a bald clown) on top. Tara Livesay said you should "BACK Comb" the top to get some volume there as well.

  2. John says:

    "BACK COMB" who ever heard of such a thing. Is that what going bald guys do? Do I sense a hint of envy over the all NATURAL look of my hair. And think about it, since I don\’t use combs or brushes I am helping to save the planet from the evils of plastic stuff which I will not have purchased over my life time.

Leave a Reply

