CAN’T SLEEP

Posted: November 6, 2009 in Uncategorized
It is 3:51 in the morning and I have been up since about 2:00 as I finally gave in to the tossing and turning in bed and decided to get up for the day.  I have had a couple of cups of hot chocolate to ward off the early morning chill as it as it is now about 80 degrees; I have been doing some internet stuff and reading the news at various sites and I have been thinking about stuff.  There is a lot going on and a lot to do.  There are broken things that need to be fixed.  There are pressures and stress of overseeing Heartline Ministries here in Haiti and there are the stresses of living in a country where everyday is a challenge.   We are still on blackout which is a bit unusual as we have been losing city power at about 5:00 PM and getting it back at about midnight.  So we are running off of our batteries.
I have been thinking about all the work that needs to be done at the office and at the womens’ center and how we need electricity to run the internet, computers, printers, and the copier.  The generator there has been broken for some time and we are actively trying to fix it but we are having a hard time finding the parts.  So if city power doesn’t come on, the batteries will poop out and we have no generator back up and that’s not good.  So that has been on my mind.
I’ve been thinking about all that is needed to enable Heartline to function and at times it can seem overwhelming.  I have been thinking about tomorrow’s appointments (I guess they are now today’s appointments) with the first one scheduled for 6:00 AM. 
I think that I am going to shut down the computer and lay on the floor and do some thinking about Matthew 6:34: "So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.  
John

Leave a Reply

