MORE UPDATES

Posted: January 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

Wednesday January 13, 2010

8:30 PM

 

It has been several hours since we have had internet access
and our cell phones still are not working.  The last time I posted I said that I was going to hop on the
motorcycle and try to find the father of one of our daughter Morgan’s
friends. 

 

I drove to what was once his house and saw nothing but a
pile of rubble with a roof on it. 
The house had fallen and he was still in it.  By the time I arrived he had been trapped for almost 18
hours and several men with a hammer and chisel had made a hole in the
cement  roof and so when I arrived
I could see Patrick still trapped as he could not remove his arm as it was
trapped by the cement and  steel
holding it in place.  But the men
continued to work on it and after 18 hours he was freed.  His arm was quite swollen and now looks
as if it has been severely burned.

 

He spent several hours at my house where the medical people with
us cared for him and we fed him as he hadn’t eaten since being trapped in the
rubble of his house.

 

His wife had as well been injured and it seems had seen a
doctor at a clinic.  I just
returned from bringing  Patrick to
see his wife where she is staying at a mission about 30 minutes from us.  It was a joyous reunion.  She it appears has seriously injured
her foot and they are talking about how to get to the States in face of the
airport here being closed.  They
may have someone take them to the Dominican Republic and try to fly out of
Santo Domingo.

 

Getting to the mission was a bit of a challenge as the bridge
is out and we had to take what may be loosely called a road, which also took us
across a river.  We along the way
on the so called road were stopped by several men who demanded money to let us
pass.  I choose to run their
roadblock and did so with the men chasing after me on foot and waving their
sticks. 

 

Please pray for Patrick and his wife Barb.

 

As I was driving him to see his wife, I couldn’t help but
consider how much he had lost and gone through and how little we have been
impacted by the loss of several walls.

 

 

PLEASE PRAY:

 

We have several people in our church that work at the UN Headquarters,
which is in an old hotel which was partially destroyed.    It has been reported that perhaps several dozen people
may have lost their lives as part of the hotel collapsed.  One of those that work there came by my
house today to let me know that he was okay.  He said that he was in a meeting with others and some did
not get out in time and were killed. 
I asked him about the others that I know that work there but he didn’t
have any information.

 

Now I have never been in an earthquake before and I am taken
back by the enormous amount of damage in the areas that I have traveled.  It is stunning to see what was just
yesterday a large functional building and now to see it in ruins.

 

So many lives lost, so much suffering, so much devastation,
so much that is hard to understand.

 

Yet in my 20 years in Haiti, I have learned that the Haitian
people are resilient and although they have not seen this kind of destruction
before they will rise above it.

 

UPDATE

 

We today started cleanup at the crèches and the women’s
center.  Our problem is that things
aren’t functioning yet and we are not able to have the rubbles hauled away and
can not get the blocks, sand, rocks, cement, and steel on site to rebuild our
fallen walls.  And we simply do not
have money on hand and do not know when we can get money as the stores and
places where we change money have not reopened.  The store where we often change money has in fact been leveled.

 

The kids and nannies are again sleeping in the yard of the
Buxmans’ house as they are afraid of aftershocks of which we just had one as I
sit here typing.

 

The Heartline people are pulling together to do whatever we
have to do to see our way through this difficult time.

 

I do not know when I can post this as I have not been able
to find a working internet connection.

Today’s struggle is to provide water and food for the kids and to keep ourselves strong and not allow fear of discouragement to creep in.

More later.

January 14th, 2010

I have just returned from seeing the man who was trapped inside his house when it collapsed.  Please pray that they are able to get out of here through the Dominican Republic as his wife’s foot and leg is in serious condition.

Body are starting to be placed on the street and at times covered with sheet.

Almost all the store are still closed and we are now facing the issue of a lack of diesel and gasoline to be able to use the vehicles and generators.

I am starting to get reports from our workers of how some have lost their houses and are living on the streets.  We, I believe, must help them.

We, last night, had 12 people at my house and as they didn’t feel safe to be at their homes or on the streets.

One of our nannies just told me that her brother has been seriously injured and that other people in the same house have died.  She asked for a couple of days off, and I said, "Of course, take as much as you need."  She replied, "The children need me here at the home, I won’t be gone long."
This is the quality of nannies that we have at Maranatha Children’s Home.

Today’s struggle is to provide water and food for
the kids and to keep ourselves strong and not allow fear of
discouragement to creep in.

More later.


 
It took 18 hours to dig Patrick free

Patrick, lying on the ground in front of our women’s center waiting for the medical people who are with us to see him.  He even smiled for me.

 

John

 

 

Comments
  1. Steven says:

    Hi John, this is Steven Coyne, Tom and Karen Coyne\’s son. That\’s fantastic to see that they were able to pull Patrick out alive. I was hoping you\’d keep your ears open for news about an American named Roger Eason. He flew into Haiti a few hours before the earthquake hit and the people who are familiar with his itinerary think he was probably still at the airport or at his hotel. I don\’t know the name of the hotel, but it was a smaller one, not one of the big ones that collapsed. I know you\’re way too busy to try to find a single person in Port-au-Prince, but I\’d appreciate it if you\’d keep your ears open and if, by some chance, you were near the airport you\’d inquire about him. There\’s an article about him with his picture at http://blog.al.com/spotnews/2010/01/roger_eason_an_ex-uab_student.html.He was going to work with an organization called Humanitarians Initiating Progress in Haiti. I don\’t know if you\’d be familiar with them or not. I think they\’re based out of Cap-Haitien. Thanks for the help. If there\’s anything I can do for you from where I\’m at, let me know. I\’m sure it\’s hard for you to track down your friends right now. The only other missionaries I know in Haiti are Joel and Yvonne Trimble, who serve in Thomassin. I\’m not sure if you know them, but if you do, you\’ll be glad to know they\’re all right.

  2. Beth says:

    John, I have been looking up orphanages in Haiti today to see how we can help. Please let us know what you need. We are praying and would gladly open our home and many others here have said the same thing, if needed. Please let us know.

  3. Stan says:

    Thanks, John, for the updates. We still remember the 9 months we spent in Haiti, and all of the wonderful people we met and the good times we had. Our prayers are with you, and all of the people of Haiti. Thanks for your help with Patrick & Barb.

Leave a Reply

