THOUGHTS FROM BETH & CLINIC PHOTOS

Posted: January 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’ve always thought the
Haitian people were tough.  This week I stand amazed at their
resilience and how they cope with pain and tragedy.  I’m also pretty
impressed with the Americans working with us.  Some are missionaries
and I already knew they were tough but our visitors – doctors, nurses
and  support staff who flew in to help have been tireless in their
efforts to make a difference.  A difference is being made every minute,
every hour, every day.  People who have not been treated in over a week
are finally getting treatment.  The pain they come in with is
incomprehensible.  As we question them while they are being treated we
find they have lost family members, houses, everything.  Everything. 
They had so little to begin with.
Our lives are changed.  Two weeks
ago I was running marathons and working at the women’s center.  Today
there is no women’s center – it’s morphed into a hospital and my
marathons are of another kind.  A rumbling of the earth has changed us
forever.  My life as I knew it is gone.  I have a life.  I have a
house.  It is full of extra people sleeping everywhere.  This won’t
change any time soon.
Everywhere
I look I see strong people. Amazing medical people working on tough
patients who withstand enormous pain.  I marvel at them both.
I am witness.  I have seen suffering, I have seen people work long hours under intense stress and act like it was no big deal. 
My
camera clicks non-stop to capture all this.  Smiling children with
injuries beyond belief.  A crushed hand that means a crushed house. 
But not a crushed spirit.
God lives, miracles are happening and I am reminded of Corie Ten Booms words "There is
no pit so deep that God is not deeper still".  He is here – we see Him at every turn.

Beth McHoul

  • Your support has given such encouragement to us as we endeavor to make a difference here in Haiti in the midst of a horrific tragedy.  We are actually going into the slums with our group truck and bringing people to the clinic.  We are horrified at what we are seeing even 10 days after the earthquake.
  • Our struggle now is where to put those that need aftercare.  Right now they are an the yard at the Boys’ House as they do not want to sleep inside due to fear of more after shocks.
  • We will continue to need medical personnel.
  • It looks as if we will not have city electricity any time soon and so we are running on generators. 
  • Please pray for Heartline and pray especially for the people of Haiti.
  • Last night all but 6 of our children were able to leave the country on a flight to the States.  Pray as we work to have the remaining children travel.
YOUR CONTINUING SUPPORT IS VERY MUCH NEEDED AS WE WILL SOON BEGIN THE PROCESS OF EVALUATING THE LOSS THAT OUR WORKERS HAVE SUSTAINED AND HOW WE CAN HELP THEM.
YOU CLICK HERE TO DONATE.

John McHoul

PHOTOS BELOW, SOME OF WHICH ARE QUITE GRAPHIC AND ALL WHICH WERE TAKING AT OUR CLINIC




Comments
  1. Nancy says:

    You and the people you are ministering are on my thoughts constantly. I am so glad to hear of babies getting out and to their forever homes, God is so amazing as He brings about blessing in tragedy constantly, isn\’t He? I ache to be there – to help the people and island that kept a part of my heart after my short visit years ago. Doing what I can from here for the people of Haiti seems so small but I know that my God can do so much there through my prayer time, I have to rest in that. Thank you and John for the great updates. I will continue to pray for you as the Lord has made some unexpected turns in your ministry there.

  2. John says:

    Thank you for your encouragement.

  3. Martha says:

    Thank you John and Beth. You don\’t know me, but I happened to know of Dr. Greg McMorrow that comes to Haiti to help you. I am a friend of his wife Linda and his daughter Merrideth. I teach kindergarten in the mountains of NC and decided to get my class involved in helping your mission. Last weekend, each student had to do chores to earn money or give a portion of their allowance. You see, we are a charter school and we practice virtues such as giving, compassion, responsibility, etc. Every student was excited to think that they were really making a difference. We are donating $100.00 and hope that our small donation can help you and others in numerous ways. God bless you for what you do. Marcie Snowden

  4. JK says:

    John & Beth – we are friends of Byron & Shelley. We\’ve been following your blog and photos closely since the earthquake hit. After reading Beth\’s comments today and seeing these new photos, all I can say is "bless you." I know the Lord will honor and bless the work of your entire team down there. And I know that in the midst of such CHAOS that God still has a plan and the entire situation under his control. May you be filled these days with peace like a river – no matter how turbulent moments may be. Please know your entire team continues to be in our prayers. We continue to do all we can to help get the word out and raise more funds for the heartline team.

  5. Mark says:

    John & Beth – I\’ve learned of your good work through Bob Coughlin and please know our thoughts and prayers are with you and the people of haiti. Your dedication and service are amazing. My family and I will continute to cirulate the message for prayers and contributions. God Speed!

  6. Ray and Kim says:

    Kim PA from florida, God bless you, you are an amazing women in all that you are, all that you do, and continue to do. I was so blessed to be part of heartline medical clinic and hospital for just one week. There is a direct line from your clinic to my heart that must be the heartline. Eph 3:16

Leave a Reply

