THINGS I SAY, HEAR, AND SEE / HEARTLINE FIELD HOSPITAL PHOTOS AND MORE

Posted: January 26, 2010 in Uncategorized
We thought that today would be a less busy day and that we would see less patients with less severe injuries that we have been used to seeing.  Boy, were we ever wrong.  The first truck load of 22 injured people, arrived with injuries ranging from deep lacerations, puncture wounds, infections, botched amputations, broken bones and blunt trauma due to falling cement blocks.  I heard one person, who called  home tell his wife that it was like a field hospital as he was seeing such unbelievable injuries.

Today I took a couple of minutes to take some pictures of some who are recovering in what has become our field hospital at the Boy’s House.  No one there will sleep inside as they are afraid that the house will fall on them during an aftershock.

I did take a couple of minutes to take some pictures of some of the people at the Heartline field hospital.



EVERYDAY

THINGS I SAY:

  • "Why are we still seeing people with such severe injuries?  It shouldn’t be like this."
  • "People shouldn’t have to live like this." I say this seemingly every time I pass some of the rusted tin shacks that some call home.
  • "My chickens have a better house than these people."
  • "Is there any more coffee?"
  • "Thank you for being here." What I say to those that have come to help us.  I try to say this at least a hundred times a day.
  • "One minute please." What I say countless times a day when someones wants me but I am  going in five directions already.
  • "I can’t find my keys."
  • "I can’t believe it." What I say when I go downtown and see the heart of the destruction.
  • "I don’t have money for you yet, come back and see me later."
  • "I’m tired."
  • "What day is today?"
  • "What can I do for you?"


THINGS I HEAR

  • The cries and moans of patients.
  • "What do you need?"  From people who have come to help.
  • "What can I do for you?" From people who have come to help."
  • "Are you okay?" From people who care.
  • "Is the water safe to drink?" From visitors
  • "Look at that." From visitors as they see the damage from the earthquake
  • The sound of jets, planes, and helicopters.
  • Police and ambulance sirens
  • "I’m hungry" I hear this perhaps a hundred times a day.
  • "Mesi" (thank you) from countless people
  • Today a boy of about 14 was put under anesthesia and he was swearing up a storm,  his mother who was there was shocked to hear her son say such words and she kept slapping him in the face.
  • "When are you going to get a haircut?" "Your hair is too long." "I like your hair." Not many people say that one.
  • "I could tell that Morgan is your daughter." I am not sure why they say that, other than we both have curly, messy hair.
  • "Have you seen…" 
  • "What day is today?" Said by Heartline people who are exhausted from much work and little sleep.
  • "What do you think this is?"  Ask by visitors that have some type of bug bites or mosquito bites or a rash.  
  • "My house is destroyed"
  • "I can’t find some of my children."
  • "I am living on the street."
  • "God bless you."
  • The sound of our diesel generator as we have no city power.
  • People praying

THINGS I SEE

  • Awful wounds and infections
  • Broken and fractured bones
  • Amputations
  • Heartline workers crying as they treat patients
  • Tired faces
  • Brave patients
  • Big planes from many nations
  • Make shift tent cities
  • Graphic pictures on the internet
  • Incredible caring people who have come to volunteer
  • Missionaries who help and share what they have.
  • Slums filled with tens of thousands of people
  • Haitians trying to get on with their lives.
  • Thousands of people from other countries that have come to help.
  • Reporters
  • God’s love through the hands and words and lives of caring people.

FEEL SAD

Sometimes it is difficult to understand why you feel particularly touched or saddened by a person’s situation.  I have seen things here that I hope never to see again.  Yet for some reason I feel especially sad for a young man that came to us with his hand cut off.  He had survived the earthquake unscathed but he had gotten into a machete fight at a funeral service and he I was told had his hand cut off by his cousin. I could hear him say shortly after our doctors cleaned him up and had to cut more off his arm, "I want to die, I want to die."

FEEL ENCOURAGED

  • By the outpouring of love and support toward Heartline and its missionaries
  • By the generosity of so many
  • By the thousands of e-mails offering help and telling us that we are loved and being prayed for.

FROM A RECENT E-LETTER

Jesus
in Luke 14:23 said, " Go out into the highways and along the hedges,
and compel them to come in, that my house may be filled."

We
at Heartline are not waiting for the injured to come to us, but rather
we are sending the big truck out on three to four runs daily to find
those who have fallen in between the cracks.  These people either
haven’t been treated or were treated once early on and now they are
suffering from severe infections.

I
would say that at least 50 percent of those that we are taking back to
our clinic have to be carried to the truck.  I am amazed and appalled
that we are seeing so many severe injuries so long after the earthquake.

The
little girl pictured above who is perhaps three years old has a
severely broken leg that her family wrapped with banana leaves. 

These are the type of injuries that we are seeing along with severely infected lacerations.

Our
boys’ home has become our make shift hospital and we now have a few
dozen that we have sent on to a couple of military or civilian
hospitals because they needed further treatment.

We expect to be caring for the more severely injured patients for some weeks to come.

Your support and prayers are vital to our ongoing effort to be the hands of Jesus here in Haiti.

OTHER STUFF THAT DOESN’T SEEM IMPORTANT

  • We must still find food for the chickens, fish, and dogs.

NEEDS

  • We continue to need your financial support as our expenses rise.  We expect to have people in our care for several more weeks.  Please help  us give them quality loving care by donating to Heartline.  You can donate by clicking here
  • We have people who are doing benefit concerts, garage sales, special church offerings (A church in Colorado recently took a special offering for Heartline and it totaled $30,000), matching donations, Sunday School offerings, office donations… Be creative and just so you know 100% of your donations goes to help the people of Haiti.
  • We have specific needs that range from medical supplies, to tents and cots, to a small prefab building and more.  You can contact Bob Coughlin at bob.coughlin@heartlineministries.org (copy and paste address)  to inquire about our present needs that will better enable us to care for those that God entrusts to us.

It is 1:07 AM and I am heading to bed as I need to be up at 5:00 AM.

God Bless Special,
John McHoul

 

Leave a Reply

