THEIR STORIES: MADAME RODRIQUE

Posted: February 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

MADAME RODRIQUE

Madame Rodrique is 75 years old and she is pictured above with her husband who is 84 years old.  They have been married for 51 years and have had seven children, two of which have died.  Here is her story:

"I was in church when the earth shook.  I felt the shaking and got up to run when I saw one of the walls of the church fall down.  I sat down on the ground while still in the church and waited for the shaking to stop.  When the shaking stopped, I ran to my house to see if my husband and child were okay.  When I got near my house I saw that it had fallen completely and I ran more quickly; it was then that I stepped on a rock and hurt my foot and couldn’t get up. 

My husband and child were not hurt in the shaking and when my husband  found me he put me in a wheelbarrow and brought me to a local clinic in the area. I was there for a few days and was in a lot of pain.  While there I saw a big white truck (our group truck, that has become our mobile clinic) that came into the yard to take people to another clinic.  I was still in the wheelbarrow and my husband wheeled me to the big white truck where I was placed on the truck, while still in the wheelbarrow.  My husband wanted to make sure that he got the wheelbarrow back  (he did a couple of days later).  The truck took me to John’s house (our clinic) where I have been treated by wonderful people.

My foot is getting better and I can now now walk but am not sure what I will do when I am released.  I am trusting in God."

Madame Rodrique

THANK YOU for your continuing care and concern and your financial giving that enables Heartline to give ongoing care to the injured.  We, in addition to our regular follow up, are seeing people who were treated shortly after the shaking and have not been treated since.  I read recently that the next group of amputations will be of those who were treated but have had no follow up and now have  serious infections.

PLEASE PRAY FOR HEARTLINE, FOR OUR VOLUNTEER MEDICAL GROUP, AND FOR THE PEOPLE OF HAITI.  HELP US HELP OTHERS BY CLICKING HERE TO DONATE.

Thanks from the top of my heart,

John McHoul

Next: In less than a minute, the  loss of a father, a child, a lower leg and a house

Leave a Reply

