HIS STORY: CLIFF ONE OF THE INCREDIBLE MEDICAL VOLUNTEERS

Posted: March 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

As many of you already know, I have returned from seven intense days
working in a startup, makeshift field hospital with Heartline Ministries on the
outskirts of Port au Prince.  In my
absence, there has been a support network going on via email, Face book,
Twitter, Internet blogs, etc. 
all of which I knew nothing about. 
As many of you know, this is all the technology that I have resisted.  Now, I want to use this to thank each
of you for all your prayers and support during my absence.

Since I’ve been back, I have had to do a lot of processing of what happened
to me, and how the pieces of the puzzle fit together, as I was literally thrown
into service when I walked through the field hospital door.  Right up until I caught the plane home
the needs were nonstop.  These were
the longest seven days of my life, and the shortest seven days of my life.  They were the most impacting, the most
defining and rewarding days of my life – not only from a medical point of view,
but also from a humanitarian point of view.

In the face of this catastrophic event I was blessed to be able to work
with other practitioners from all over the United States.  They had hearts and dedication like I
have never seen for the simple love of others.  Our bond is incredible. We will all be friends forever.

I witnessed the hand of God guiding us in all that we saw, experienced,
and did. He prepared each of us to go and He got us there together –
miraculously.  It was clearly Him
working in us and through each of us. 
In Him we were able to endure the magnitude of devastation that happened
to these people on January 12.  That
devastation is beyond description and comprehension.  I know that others with whom I served agree with me that
coming home was very, very hard to do. 
Regretting deeply having to leave so much undone is inexpressible, not
knowing the end result of our work on the people. 

All those trips out into the rubble of the slum areas, every touch we
made, in most cases was the only touch of help that these people would
have.  Every wound was infected.  I saw every type of known orthopedic
injury known lying out in the street, or brought to us with help, even in
wheelbarrows.  Again, beyond
scripting.  It was and is hard to
realize that thousands and thousands more were still suffering from all the crush
injuries associated with the earthquake. 
In the field hospital with minimal supplies and no tools, it was Civil
War medicine requiring a lot of improvisation.  Believe me when I say that I used all 44 years of my ortho
training there. 

It has been well recognized that even at this level of care, we were
saving lives.  It was a very
humbling experience.  The Heartline
website tells me that they are still finding these people with major, major
injuries – again, a demonstration of the level of this disaster.  Think about this:  in under a minute, over 250,000 people
were injured or crushed to death.  Those
numbers continue to rise.  It was
hard for us to wrap our brains around, even seeing it.

Very soon I realized that we saw and treated the outside of people, the
physical injuries, but the inside of them, and the scope of their losses then
or in their futures, I could not begin to understand or treat. At some point I
will return to Heartline’s ongoing ministry there to do what I can.

I did and do realize that it was through the prayer support of my
family, my church family, and my friends that I was able to be there for the
people of Haiti in a time of catastrophic chaos, and human pain and suffering –
and all that continues there.

It is disheartening, appalling for me to see that this human event has
fallen off the media radar. 

Through your prayers, donations, or supplies people were and are
helped.  Our results were in
positive medical outcomes, and literally saving lives.  But all of it means something more when
you realize that they had nothing to start with, not even hope.  Because I now have a greater
understanding of the power of prayer, my request is that above everything else,
you pray for the people of Haiti.   

With love,

Cliff   ~ and Adrienne

“But now abide faith, hope, love,
these three; but the greatest of these is love.” 

1 Cor. 13:13

CLIFF TREATING A LITTLE BOY

Heartline continues to move on with the field hospital as more patients are coming to us for after care.  It is the beginning of the rainy season but  an impressive group from Ecola Bible School put up a mega tarp on a frame that they put together out of pvc even as the rain fell lightly.  The pieced together tarps we had were leaking but the mega tarp framed cover held back last night’s rain from getting the patients wet.

CHECK IT OUT

THE SUPERDOME OF HAITI

FYI:

Heartline has not received government assistance and is paying for the expenses of running this field hospital by your generous giving.  Please help us to help other by your giving.  Click here to donate.  Our commitment to you is that 100% of what you donate will be used in Haiti to continue the ongoing ministry of the Heartline Field Hospital.

John McHoul


 

Comments
  1. H. says:

    Love your SuperDome!! I know it\’s a place of REAL refuge and HOPE. Praying still for you all, and waiting for God to plan the timing and open doors for when we can become more involved than "just" prayers.

  2. John says:

    It is really a cool place!

Leave a Reply

