SMALL BITES and a CONVERSATION

Posted: April 15, 2010 in Uncategorized
  • We no longer can talk about the coming rainy season as it has rained for the past six nights.  Some of the tent cities seem in pretty good shape and others are a quagmire of mud and debris.  And for some, a tent is an improvement over what some people called home before the earthquake.  I often feel heavy hearted when I spend time in the slum areas and see and smell and hear close up the living conditions; albeit, I am standing at a distance in that when I leave there I go home to a much nicer place.
  • Yesterday was a dull headache and dull heartache day as I went with a lady from our hospital who had lost three children in the earthquake to her home where the bodies of the children are still buried.  It was her first time back to her fallen house since the January 13th, the day after the earthquake.  I hope to write more about this tomorrow and to include some pictures as well.
  • Charleen, Beth’s sister is running the Boston Marathon on April 19th.  She is using this opportunity to raise funds for Heartline.  Below is a appeal that Dawn, Beth and Charleen’s niece wrote:

2010 Boston Marathon: Fund raiser for Heartline


The people of Haiti will forever remember January 12, 2010. Have you
forgotten?


It is estimated that over 100,000 Haitians are living in makeshift tents
right now. Some of the tents are just sheets to protect from the sun but
they do very little to protect from what is right now the rainy season
in Haiti. Imagine trying to care for you newborn baby under a sheet in a
tropical downpour. It is happening right now.





Heartline ministries has been on the ground in Haiti for 20 years. John
and Beth McHoul, founders of Heartline, have over the past 20 years been
growing and changing with the needs of the Haitian people. On January
12 there was a new need for a clinic to treat the many horrible injuries
as a result of the earthquake. Heartline responded. They are 100% donor
supported so every single donation counts. 100% of money raised is used
in Haiti on the Haitian people who so desperately need help. Please
sponsor me as I run the 2010 Boston Marathon for Heartline. You can
donate by going to
www.heartlineministries.org/charleenvillarifundraiser.aspx

Or send your check marked “Villari Fundraiser” to


Heartline Ministries PO Box 898 Sunnyside, Washington 98944


If you can give just $1 a mile or more you will be helping Heartline
continue to help the Haitian people.


On April 19th lets show the Haitian people that we haven’t forgotten
them!

  • Here is a recent conversation that I had with a young Haitian man that came to the field hospital the other day

John: "Hello, can I help you?"
Young Man: "I need a job."
 John: "Are you a DP?"  To help you understand: A DP is what the Haitians and non Haitians, since I am not a Haitian, call someone who has who has been deported from another country because of alleged criminal activity.  Haiti has a significant DP community.  Now here is a BIG generalization, but a DP from the States can sometimes be identified by the English that he/she speaks and by how he/she dresses.  I know, I know that this is a BIG generalization; and I don’t like it when people think that I am a disheveled, homeless street person, just because I look like a disheveled, homeless street person.
Young Man: "No, my father sent me to Haiti for punishment."
John: "What did you do?"
Young Man: "I had a bad temper." Notice: He didn’t answer my question and I must admit that I am a master question asker after having two children, now grown.
Young Man: "I need a job."
John: "I don’t have a job as we are hoping to close the field hospital at the end of May." FYI: The first proposed closing date was on March 31st.  We missed that one.
Young Man: "My girlfriend is six months pregnant but nobody knows and I need a job to help her." Thought: Nobody knows, I’m sure doesn’t mean that nobody knows.
John: "Where is she?"
Young Man: "I left her home to cook."
John: "Has she seen a doctor?"
Young Man: "No’"
John: "Bring her on Tuesday to the women’s program where she can seen by Beth and Joanna."
Young Man: "Okay, where is it?"
John: "The next street over number 6 with the gray gate."
Young Man: "What color is the gate?"
John: "Gray."
Young Man: "Okay."
John: "Don’t be late. come at 7:30 in the morning."
Young Man: "Okay"

He didn’t come.

John McHoul
             

  

Comments
  1. Bryan says:

    I think you look more like a cave man, than a homeless man. 🙂 Remembering you/your family/people of Haiti in my thoughts/prayersevery AM & PM (sometimes in the middle of the day too).

  2. Donna says:

    I was eavesdropping on this conversation; I loved your responses! You did miss conversation he had with Alex. Crips & Bloods and LA….

  3. John says:

    Wish that I there for those

Leave a Reply

