OTHERS

Posted: December 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

Each day I get to the office early and prepare the list of what  needs to be done on that day. Then after a time of prayer I divvy up the list among the several that meet with me in the morning.  Daily the list varies, but it is usually pretty long. The list for today I actually did on Sunday morning when I got to the office early to pick up some supplies for church.  This list filled one and then part of another 8 1/2″ by 11″ sheet of paper. And now it is 4:00 am Monday morning and I am enjoying my second  strong cup of Starbucks French Roast coffee,  listening to the roosters in stereo, and adding to the list.

Life is short and time is to be valued and respected. The words of Job 14:1,2 may seem  some what somber but can they be denied:

1 “How frail is humanity!
How short is life, how full of trouble!
2 We blossom like a flower and then wither.
Like a passing shadow, we quickly disappear.

I see my life as my time at the plate, my time to be in the game so to speak.  While there are times when the days seem long, in realty life is short. Jesus said in John 9:4:

As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work.

Living in Haiti is such a privilege. Going over the morning list and seeing so many tasks that involve touching the lives of people brings tremendous fulfillment and gives strength when the tasks become difficult.  Sometimes we fight and work and  struggle for those that can’t fight or work for themselves.

We often say that visiting Haiti is pretty simple but living in Haiti can be quite difficult. Living here,  it doesn’t one take long to see the the negative impact that corruption and selfishness has on a nation.

I don’t see it as my job to change a nation but rather to be faithful to touch lives for the cause of Christ.  And so daily we busily go about the task of living and working here in Haiti for the sake of Christ and for the sake of others.

And so now it is my time  and now it is your time.  I think of the famous words of Jim Elliot, the missionary who gave his life endeavoring to bring the gospel to Ecuador’s Waodani Indians.  He wrote,

He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. and
Wherever you are – be all there.
It is the time of the year that we celebrate the birth of Christ, who gave His life that the world would know God.  Let us, as well, dedicate our lives that others may know the love of God though His son Jesus Christ.
John
Leave a Reply

