MISSIONARY QUOTES

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

I find great encouragement and inspiration as I read of the lives of missionaries who have lived their lives in response to God’s call.  I thought that you too may be encouraged by the following quotes.

 

“It is sweet to be nothing and less than nothing that Christ may be all in all.”

David Brainerd (1718-1747) was a missionary to the American Indians in New York, New Jersey, and eastern Pennsylvania. Born in Connecticut in 1718, he died of tuberculosis at the age of twenty-nine.

“I feel it my duty to plod on while daylight last.”

Born in England, William Carey (1761-1834) was a Baptist missionary to India. A pastor before going to the mission field, he spent an active forty-one years serving the Lord in India, including translating the Scriptures. Carey never returned to England.

“Do not have your concert first, and then tune your instruments afterwards. Begin the day with the Word of God and prayer, and get first of all into harmony with Him.”

J. Hudson Taylor (1832-1905) was an English missionary to China. Founded the China Inland Mission which at his death included 205 mission stations with over 800 missionaries, and 125,000 Chinese Christians.

“I realized that my life was to be one of simple, childlike faith, and that my part was to trust, not to do. I was to trust in Him and He would work in me to do His good pleasure. From that time my life was different.”

C.T. Studd (1860-1931) was an English missionary who faithfully served His Saviour in China, India, and Africa. His motto was: “If Jesus Christ is God and died for me, then no sacrifice can be too great for me to make for Him.”

“Lord, enable us to search our hearts and humble ourselves before Thee. Oh, for a closer walk with God, more faith, more sincerity, more earnestness, and more love. I must study more the Word of God. ‘If ye abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatsoever ye will, and it shall be done unto you.’ The Master said so, and His words are true.”

A. M. Mackay (1849-1890) was a pioneer engineer-missionary to Uganda. Arrived in Zanzibar in 1876; he reached Uganda in 1878. Built 230 miles of road to Uganda from the coast. Translated Matthew’s Gospel into Luganda. Died in 1890 having spent fourteen years in Africa without once returning home to native Scotland.

 

Notice that these quotes aren’t necessarily about the missionary life as they are about the Christian life.

If you have some quotes that have spoken into your life, please share them with me. I would love to read them.

John McHoul

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Great quotes. I love missionary quotes, too, always very inspiring. Here are a lot of good ones (from a post I wrote on the same thing:)):
    http://inpatagoniaargentina.blogspot.com/2010/04/awesome-missionary-quotes.html

  2. Corrin D says:

    These are fantastic. Thank you for sharing! “I feel it my duty to plod on while daylight last.” What an eloquent and inspiring reminder.

    My family continues to pray for you and the Heartline staff as you each plod on in Haiti, giving the people a very real glimpse of His presence.

    ‎”In crisis, especially in deep crisis, we may not be able to bring answers. But we can always bring presence.” ~John Ortberg

  3. Terri Urban says:

    Hi John, Happy belated birdthday! Just wondering if there is any news on getting the house built for Figi and her family?

    Terri Urban

    • johnmchoul says:

      Hope to start breaking ground early next week on five houses. We have made arrangements for another mission to put up the houses as they can do it better and more quickly.

  4. BethAnn says:

    From prayer that asks that I may be
    Sheltered from winds that beat on Thee
    From fearing when I should aspire,
    From faltering when I should climb higher,
    From silken self, O Captain, free
    Thy soldier who would follow Thee.

    From subtle love of softening things,
    From easy choices, weakenings
    (Not thus are spirits fortified,
    Not this way went the Crucified,)
    From all that dims Thy Calvary,
    O Lamb of God, deliver me.
    – Amy Carmichael
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amy_Carmichael

  5. Terri Urban says:

    Regarding missions: “Go, send, or disobey.” John Piper

  6. amy says:

    so good. thank you.

Leave a Reply

