Seeking and Trusting God

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

It is an amazing thing to say something like, “God told me to …” or “God spoke to me.” or “God led me to…” Think about about what you are saying  when you say or intimate that.  You are saying that the eternal, infinite, creator of the universe; the One who alway has been, who never did not exist, who came from no where since He has always been here spoke to you, told you to do something.  Wow, that is amazing on one hands and definitely scary on the other hand.  Yet it is not uncommon to hear people say such things.  I have on occasion been known to say such things, even from the pulpit. Sometimes it seems that hearing from God is so easy, except when it isn’t.

Most of you reading this blog have read and probably have memorized Proverbs 3:5,6 as they are some of most common verses that we quote or go to when we are uncertain about  what God wants from us.  We often turn to these short verses when we have decisions to make of which we are unsure.

Proverbs 3:5,6 KJV

5Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. 6In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths .

Amplified

5Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. 6In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

New Living Translation

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.6 Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

So then the emphasis  turns from trying to hear God and get His direction, to figuring out how to lean on and trust God all the while not trusting on our own understanding because God’s ways are much different than ours.   Really, it seems so simple, except when it isn’t, which often seems to be the case.

Sunday after church the Heartline  family of 13 adults, 11 children and 2 visitors met at our new property to worship, pray, eat, and talk.  It was the first time that we have all been on the property at the same time. We in 2010 bought three acres of land on which Haiti’s only western theme restaurant used to operate but it never did very well.  I liked it, but clearly it wasn’t enough to keep it open and it closed a few years ago.  I have known the owner for at least 10 years and he over this time would often say to me, “John, you should buy this place.” I would  mumble something back, while thinking it would be great to have this place. He used to own several more acres but he sold them off as having just me and a few others as customers didn’t pay the bills.

Without fail when I bring visitors by to see the property I hear something like, “Wow, this place is beautiful.” I even still feel that way as I pull in off of the noisy, litter strewn street into what seems to be a place of refuge.

We are planning to build a  larger maternity center and hope to have the plans finalized shortly as the Heartline midwives and JC, the architect, scan plans back and forth.  We have already poured a 20 foot by 60 foot cement pad in preparation for a prefab building that is being donated to Heartline.  It will serve as the school for the Heartline missionary children. We have groups coming in this summer who will help to renovate buildings already on the property and we are looking to hear from God as we will be adding other buildings.

Now let me get back to last Sunday as the Heartline family gathered on the property.  One of the reasons we gathered was to talk about the property and about the Heartline families moving onto the property.  We have three acres but there are two more acres for sale that connect to the property that we bought.  It once belonged to the owner of the restaurant but he sold it off as he needed money.  All the property including the two acres is walled in, so the only separation between the two are the boundary markers.  I admit that when I look at the property, I don’t see the boundary markers as much as I see the back wall at the end of the additional two acres.  When I consider where we will put up the housing for missionaries I see it on the two acres that we don’t yet own.  When I consider some of the other buildings that we will put up, I see them as well on the two acres that we as yet don’t own.

And so we met to pray and talk about it as we do need to know because we want to have the first house up by August of this year. And so we talked and asked ourselves: WHAT IS GOD’S WILL? The owner wants a lot of money($225,000.00): WHERE DO WE GET THE MONEY?  We can do the math and and say things like: “Well, if X amount of people give X amount of dollars.” But I do not believe this is what God would have us do.

We want this additional two acres.  There was not one among us who said, “No, I don’t think God wants us to have this land.”  So what should we do?

I believe that we should do what we daily endeavor to do anyways and that is to serve God faithfully, be obedient to His call on us here in Haiti, diligently seek Him and to:

Proverbs 3:5,6

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.6 Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

And so we pray that God will find us faithful and trustworthy.  People who can be entrusted to use the land that He gives for His honor and intended purpose, touching lives and that we in word and deed will faithfully share and show the good news of great joy here in Haiti.

John

Standing near the boundary markers of the back two acres

Standing with the men as we talk about ministering to men

The back two acres

 

Comments
  1. I imagine that your plight is a universal one or at least one that I’ve encountered in different terms. It makes you wonder why God would provide us with anything at all given our long long history of blunders even when we have the best of intentions. It just seems to me that God tends to even be able to use are blunders for His glory. I totally agree with you, though, the prayer is the key so as for me and my fmaily, we’ll be right there in the prayer trenches with you. God keep you, brother.

    Zach

    • johnmchoul says:

      Thanks Zach,
      I do in fact wonder why God would give us anything or bless us. I often tell people that I think God blesses what we do here because He knows that we are blunderers and stumblers and just a bunch of stiffs.

  2. Sami says:

    John,
    I would love to chat with you. My husband and I are praying through the possibility of Haiti becoming a part of our future, physically..not just through prayer, but through action and presence. After reading your post, I’m afraid to flippantly say “God is calling us there” but, in fact…we believe He is. We don’t know in what capacity. Would it be our whole family moving there? Would it be Joey goes and takes teams once a month and raises support for Haiti back in the states? Would it be summers there, winters here? Would it be sell it all and just go tomorrow, or wait? Also, what org would be hook up with? We are surely different than most Americans (no offense to them) in our ways of thinking about life, faith, missions etc. So, that makes things complicated too. Finding people that are like minded, etc. When I read Tara’s recent post about STM teams I was dumbfounded because everything she said, my husband had told me he gathered in his 10 days there. Definitely like minded in our views. All of this to say, do you guys need help? If so, in what capacity? Finances, prayer, hands and feet on the ground, etc. Your community (the Heartline families) is so beautiful to me. Thanks for your time. Let me know your thoughts..you can email me info@sailorandcompany.net . I’ve read your stuff long enough to know you are honest and that you will tell me what things I’ve said that are annoying, right on, confusing, etc. Thanks for that. I look forward to hearing from you. We are just praying that God would open up and close up the doors we run to based on His will. We don’t want to “run to Haiti because we feel called” unless we are certain it is His plan and not just our own. We have major dreams and visions…but only want to do what is best for His kingdom and His people. Thanks,
    Sami

  3. Corrin D says:

    Praying His will be done… and if that includes the additional 2 acres (oh please Lord let it be so!) that the story of how it came to be is so amazingly cool that every person who hears it is unable to deny the Divine hand that put the pieces into place.

    God, please bless Your children at Heartline who strive to be faithful and trustworthy. Flood them with Your peace as they diligently seek Your will. Encourage them as they endeavor to be Your hands and feet to the people of Haiti. And I ask that You grant them supernatural trust and patience as Your will, and plan for Heartline’s future, unfolds. Amen!

Leave a Reply

