A Not Untypical Story

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

This morning at about 7:15 I pulled up to the office in my pick up truck and sitting outside on the ground near the gate was a man who looked at me as if I should know him which made reach deep through the cobwebs to find his name.  I wasn’t successful.

Getting to the office these days can be a challenge as the main street has been flooded for going on two months and the potholes can’t be seen because the water is so  deep plus the potholes are morphing into what seems like craters. It is a two way street with vehicles both ways hugging the middle of the road so they don’t fall in the car/truck catcher (drainage ditches) which can’t be seen since they too are covered due to the flooding.  I do feel a sort of victory each time I am able to make it past the flooding onto the potholed street that I can see. When a vehicle falls in the car catcher it really messes traffic up like the UN vehicle pictured left.  The method to get the vehicle out varies.  A bunch of guys can try picking up the vehicle and pushing it back onto the road.  This is rarely successful.  Another is to have another vehicle try to pull the car catcher caught vehicle out of the car catcher.  This works sometimes but usually after the tow rope breaks several times.  And, of course, traffic can’t move either way when this method is engaged.  So it is best to enjoy the wait and root for those  trying to free the vehicle from the depths of the car catcher.  The last method and the most expensive and the one that can take the longest because it takes hours if not a day or two is to have a tow truck pull the vehicle out.  This also blocks traffic both ways as well.

Getting out of the truck was a chore as I had three laptops in two cases, my backpack, a cordless drill battery and charger, three cell phones and a large cup of coffee.  I greeted the man and he then introduced himself.  We at least 14 years ago facilitated the adoption of his child into the United States.  It has been at least 10 years since I have seen him and am not sure how he found me.  I was going to ask but it wouldn’t have mattered, so I didn’t.

He told me this story. The bio mother of the child adopted into the States is gravely ill.  She has a broken arm, a broken leg, and her neck is twisted at an angle so that she is in much pain and she is not able to get out of bed..  When I asked what I could do, he said that he needed $2500.00 Haitian dollars or about $312.00 USD.  I asked the typical questions such as: “Has she been to a doctor?” “How long has she been like this?”  He said that someone she had angered went to a mystic and sent this sickness on her and that it wasn’t something that a doctor could treat.  He said that he needed the $2500 Haitian dollars to go to another mystic and to have the curse removed.  Not sure if included in the price was  a curse lobbed back onto the sender of the first curse.

Now to an American mind, this probably sounds like poppycock; but I have lived here long enough to understand and see that there are spiritual powers at work.  And if for no other reason, I read it in scripture: Ephesians 6:12 NASB

 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.

So speaking to the man, I told him that I understood but I couldn’t give him the money to go to a mystic to have the curse broken but that I would pray and ask others to pray and pray with others.  I spoke to him about the power of the resurrected Christ and that because Christ defeated the grave all things are possible.  And I then asked him to come see  me in a few days and let me know what’s happening.

And so will you please pray for this lady. Let’s pray for deliverance from this thing that has a hold of her and complete healing. Let cry out to God on her behalf. And let’s pray that the peace of God will rule her heart and mind in Christ Jesus.

 

John McHoul

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Amen. Praying. 🙂

  2. Shari says:

    Praying with you!

  3. Robin carter says:

    Praying for her and with you!

  4. kathy says:

    I think a lot of what goes on in Haiti is beyond our American understanding but not beyond the power of Jesus Christ. Blessing to you as you minister in the darkness.

  5. johnmchoul says:

    So true. It is easy to discount what we don’t understand

  6. Praying. Will be looking forward to the testimony!

  7. Amanda says:

    Praying!

  8. Praying and thankful you and the rest of the Heartline family are there and willing to take time to hear the needs of the people and love them like Jesus does.

Leave a Reply

