Love This Song But Struggle Singing It

Posted: January 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

There are some songs that I love yet I struggle to sing them.  Probably my number one, love the song but struggle singing it, is: Lord I Give You My Heart also called This Is My Desire.

Check out the words and as you read them ask yourself if what you are reading or  singing truly reflect your desire, your heart, and all that you have within you.  I suppose we could say that we are singing it by faith, believing that our lives will line up with the lyrics.  But conditionally, it is clear, at least for me, that my life does not line up with the lyrics of this little song.  And so, I find it difficult to sing if I sing it and really pay attention to the words.

Lord I Give You My Heart

Written by  Michael W. Smith

This is my desire, to honor You
Lord with all my heart I worship You
all I have within me
I give You praise
all that I adore is in You

Chorus:

Lord I give You my heart
I give You my soul
I live for You alone
Every breath that I take
Every moment I’m awake
Lord have Your way in me

Click on the link below and listen to the song.

Lord I Give You My Heart

Deuteronomy 6:5

You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.

I’m thinking that God would not have commanded us to love Him with all our heart, soul, and mind if it wasn’t possible.

I’m thinking that when I do not love Him so, it is because my affections are  drawn or focused elsewhere.

I’m thinking that the greatest thing that we can do for God and for man is to love God with all our heart, soul, and might.

I’m thinking that if this isn’t right then nothing else will line up correctly.

I’m thinking that being is more important than doing.

I’m thinking that  for the believer we spend so much effort struggling to give our lives to God that we find ourselves ill prepared or unequipped for spiritual warfare.

I’m thinking that I need to go and be in His presence.

John


Comments
  1. Steve Hryszczun says:

    These words have both encouraged me and challenged me.

Leave a Reply

