Living Among Giants

Posted: April 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

Sometimes in reference to the slew of celebrities that come to Haiti we jokingly call this place Haitiwood.  In any given month, there can be: movie stars, TV star, singers, sports stars and, of course, politicians that come to Haiti to see and to help.  Really though, I appreciate those that come and use their influence to try to help the people of Haiti.  They often have financial and people resources that those that aren’t celebrities do not have.  They come, I believe, because they care, consider themselves blessed to have so much, and want to help those who have suffered, especially due to the 2010 earthquake.

While I really do appreciate that celebrities come, I find it difficult to be impressed by their celebrity status, and I must admit, that I get aggravated at those who get overly excited when celebrities come. I have given this some thought and think that this is largely because I live among giants.

I for a number of years have lived among incredible people who daily give their lives to help others.  This is not something that they do on a weekend jaunt, but rather it is who they are.  It is their life. I have seen some who have given over 40 years to the people of Haiti and who may be thrown a small party a couple of days before they leave Haiti.  They return to their birth country with little or no fanfare or recognition, but they in my mind are giants.  The funny thing about these kinds of giants is if you told them that they are giants they wouldn’t understand because what they do doesn’t seem extraordinary or spectacular to them.  It is just who they are.  They aren’t actors or superstars.  They are simply people who have committed their lives to making a difference and they don’t think that it is a  big deal thing.  In my eyes they are giants.

I live among some of the poorest people in the western hemisphere yet among some who are the most generous, hardworking people in the world.  I live among people who have a proverb to describe the difficulties of their lives: “Behind mountains are mountain” which means: Behind problems are problems.”  Yet so many Haitian are giants in my eyes.  Daily, many face each new day with the uncertainty of food, or money to meet their needs.  Yet they press on working to create a better life for their children.  They press on looking to God for strength through the struggle.  In my mind Haiti is a land of giants.

Recently I had a visitor in the office tell me for about 30 minutes of all that things that he and his church are doing.  I listened politely but honestly it is difficult to impress someone with such talk when he lives among giants; when he lives among those that would never begin to rattle off all that they do, because to them it isn’t all that extraordinary.  To them, it is simply life, but to those of us who daily see their lives, it is clear that we live in a land of giants.

John McHoul

Comments
  1. Terri H says:

    Beautifully written. I am a repeat short termer to Haiti and it’s exactly that reason that I fell in love with the Haitian people. If I could, I would move there permanently to live among those giants.

  2. Lorrie says:

    John, you are one of the giants !!!!

  3. Sheila says:

    John, you took the words out of my mouth.
    It bothers me so much to see people put sport stars and movies stars on a pedestal.
    Who cares about Lindsey Lohan and the Kardashians,what are they famous for anyway ??
    I know you won’t like to hear this but you and Beth are giants in our eyes.You guys have given up your lives for the people of Haiti.
    Don’t have enough room to write all the great things you both have done in Jesus name but it doesn’t matter He knows !

    I am thankfull to my Father that I know 2 giants that are all about doing His work and being His hands extended in Haiti !

    Shalom,
    Sheila R

  4. John McHoul: A giant among giants.

Leave a Reply

