Selected Quotes to Ponder

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

I love reading quotes, and often I come across some that cause me to pause, muse, ponder and wonder what the author is saying.

I have listed below several quotes that  I have especially found meaningful.  I hope that they speak to your heart as they do mine.

John

A champion is one who gets up even when he can’t. – Jack Dempsey

There is no greater threat to our devotion to Christ than our service for Christ.
– Oswald Chambers

Christianity is Christ!   H.A. Ironside

The assimilation of the church to the world silences the witness – Michael Horton

The God of the Bible is not the kind of God we can manage, manipulate, accommodate, or domesticate to our familiar experience.  Michael Horton

Reading the Bible without meditating on it is like trying to eat without swallowing.  Anonymous

The word of God hidden in the heart is a stubborn voice to suppress. Billy Graham

Everyone needs reminding: Jesus is not on a side. Jesus is a side.  Janie B. Cheaney

We are all in the same boat in a stormy sea, and we owe each other a terrible loyalty. -G.K. Chesterton

Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet.  ― Bob Marley

Only those who are truly aware of their sin can truly cherish grace. – C.J. Mahaney

I don’t know much, but I understand how entirely doomed I am without God. Anne Lamott

Not being changed by prayer is sort of like standing in the middle of a spring rain without getting wet.  Steve Brown

Christ beside me, Christ before me, Christ behind me, Christ within me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me.  Saint Patrick

 

Comments
  1. “A champion is one who gets up even when he can’t. – Jack Dempsey”
    What a great quote. Sometimes getting up again feels like the hardest thing, but that ability to keep getting up is one that I see demonstrated so gracefully by the people I meet each day. I am constantly humbled by the resilience of those around me.

    • johnmchoul says:

      We, in our morning meeting in the office, talked quite a bit about this quote. It would be so much easier to understand if he said, “A champion is one who gets up even if he’s tired, or discouraged, or doesn’t want to and so on.” But “even when he can’t” wow that is powerful and I am trying to get a hold of the “even when he can’t” part.

      • I am a pediatrician here in Saint Marc, and some days I run up against such tragedy, such loss, that I can picture exactly what he’s saying. The mother whose child dies in her arms, whose whole world is destroyed in that one moment – and yet she has other children waiting for her at home, a hard life to return to living – she is the champion that quote calls to my mind. I have seen so many families here weather such enormous hardship, and yet they go on.

        I try to keep them in mind in those moments when I myself hit that point – the days that take such a toll that I am sure I can’t get up again. It is hard for me here both personally and professionally, but I have to keep perspective and keep on getting up. Even when I can’t.

  2. johnmchoul says:

    The Haitians in my mind are giants, who though weary, keep on day after day in the face of daunting obstacles. Praying!

  3. Ryan Alberts says:

    Great quotes! I always wonder what the situation they were in when they said these amazing things! What were they doing, how did they say it. Great stuff!

  4. Thanks for sharing – the St. Patrick quote about Christ being “all in all” is one that kinda gives me chills… Awhile back I compiled some quotes on prayer you might enjoy reading: http://simplefollower.com/2010/12/02/being-a-follower-of-jesus-means-praying/

Leave a Reply

