Home Alone

Posted: May 14, 2013 in Uncategorized
I should have known.  John scheduled a two-day trip to the States to meet our new grandson Zachary and to hang out with the other growing by the minute grandchildren.  I’m sort of famous for things going wrong when John is gone so he doesn’t leave often.  Troy and Tara were fully committed to make sure I, the vehicles, the house and the dogs were all alive and functional when John got back.  Troy is an awesome stand in leader.
 
Then Isaac Livesay got bit by a bat.  Vaccine could not be found in Haiti so Tara had to fly Isaac out to Florida to have him vaccinated.  We talked before she left and I said “Not to worry, no ladies are due right now, I’ll be fine”.  
 
I drove John to the airport Monday morning, returned home, jumped on the treadmill and not three steps later my cell phone rang.  A new lady in our program was at the maternity center bleeding.  I jumped off the treadmill and into the car.  Sure enough this sweet and very poor lady was miscarrying.  Her husband was with her, they were newly married and really wanted a baby.  Sad stuff the day after Mother’s Day.
 
Just as I was finishing up with her another of our ladies came in walking bent over with premature contractions.  Doubled over she seemed near ready to deliver.  I quickly called our nurse Wini to come help me.  After all our checks we realized she was not really in labor at all but was definitely having contractions due to dehydration.  We put her on some fluids and had her rest a few hours in our birth bed that wouldn’t be used for birth today.  She wasn’t eating or drinking.  Why not?  She lost the water bottle that we gave her and a clean water source is neither free nor convenient.  Eating – well, she hasn’t felt much like eating.  Her body rebelled and put her into premature labor demanding food and water.    Marie France has a hard life and things like enough food and water just aren’t guaranteed.  We offer both those things daily but getting to us is a chore.  She used to have a job to feed herself and her children but her employer raped her and here she is pregnant with her former employer’s child and no job and no money.  Drinking water is the least of her problems.
 
Tuesday morning and I leave for the maternity center.  The road is blocked so I go the back way.  A giant pile of rocks meets me half way so I twist and turn through our neighborhood and somehow come out a mile or two away.  I finally find a road I know and eventually make it to program.   I walk in expecting a normal program day.  One of our soon to be graduates is telling Agathe a story and she has tears dripping down her sweet face.  Come to find out her house and neighbors were robbed and her husband was shot in the chest and in the back as he tried to run.  He is now at Doctors Without Borders Hospital.  This husband and dad who worked each day to care for his little family is now fighting for his life.  His wife has good reason to cry.  Our shoulders slump and we cry with her.
 
As the child development program starts one of our pregnant moms arrives with a worried look.  She hasn’t felt her baby move since yesterday and she is concerned.  I grab the Doppler and quickly pray I will hear a reassuring baby heartbeat.  I do.  Loud and strong!  Crisis averted – we smile, I complete her prenatal and send her on her way.   As program ends she is back, this time her skirt is soaking wet.  Her bag of waters has broken.  This is not good news for a mom who is only 31 weeks along and measuring really small.  Not good news at all.
 
This is beyond our skill level and we start to look for back up.  The first hospital states if she doesn’t have high blood pressure along with the broken waters they won’t take her.  For the first time in my midwifery career I am hoping for a high bp.  Nope, perfect.   We crank up our ambulance and prepare for hospital number two.  While waiting for family to arrive and all the wheels to be set in motion dear little Guernise lays on our birth bed weeping.  For the second time today our bed is used but not for its intended purpose.  At one point I enter the room and there is Cherline, our loving housekeeper (and so much more) holding Guernise in her arms praying and crying.   Women with women.  Praying for one another in those grief filled and frightening times of life.
 
The second hospital takes her and we are relieved.  
 
I saw a lot of sadness packed into the last two days.  I also saw women who know how to pray for each other, women who know how to comfort each other and women who love each other.  Our maternity center sees a lot of joy, we have a lot of fun and witness the miracle of birth over and over.  Sometimes it is required of us to dip our cups into a well of sorrow and grieve with people in loss.  And this we willingly do because the word midwife means to be “with women” and Christian means to be “like Christ”.
 
Tara gets home tomorrow and for this I am very glad.  She carries all this along side me.  John gets home Thursday and he carries us all.
 
Beth McHoul
 

 

Comments
  1. So sorry for the heavy sadness you are bearing, but so thankful that all of you do what you do!

  2. Michelle Ruebke says:

    Hear my cry, O God;
    listen to my prayer.
    From the ends of the earth I call to you,
    I call as my heart grows faint;
    lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
    For you have been my refuge — Ps. 61:1&2

    Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. II Cor. 17:3&4–1

    Rejoicing & weeping with you. Wish I was there to lend a hand, shoulder, whatever.

  3. […] wanted to share a segment of a blog Beth wrote the other […]

Leave a Reply

