Thoughts After Receiving My First Senior Discount

Posted: May 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

I was recently in the States for one of my rare visits.  I came primarily to see our newest grandson, born to our daughter and her husband.  We now have four amazing grandchildren.  During my visit I was in the same room with our son, his three children, and with our daughter with her first-born.  Sometimes I feel as if I am just an outsider looking on from a distance.  Where did these people come from? How did they get here? Where are they going?  Where have I been?  It seems that I have missed a lot.

I simply can’t grasp, that once upon a time, I was like them; raising a family, trying to figure it out. Sometimes I’m afraid to think back that far as I don’t always like what I see and feel.  Now, years later I can see the wisdom in this well known quote by Robert Brault.

Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you’ll look back and realize they were big things.

Perhaps I am feeling a bit melancholy because while in the States we visited an aquarium and now that I am sixty I got my first senior discount.  Sixty, when and how and where did that happen?  Where was I when this was happening?

I feel that life can often be like a plane ride.  You get on; take off, fall asleep and then you wake up sometime and somewhere before you land.   Sometimes even though we may have achieved success, so to speak, in that we are financially secure, we have a house and family and all the things that should make us content; we discover that we have been asleep.  And as it is with being asleep, you don’t know you’ve been sleeping  until you have woken up.

I’m thinking that there should be some type of health warning that comes with your first senior discount.  Just as a hospital will ask if you are on medications or are allergic to medications, there should be a special line for first timers with someone asking, “Have you ever had a senior discount before?  Is this your first time?  Are you sure? Why don’t you just sit here and think about it? Take your time”

The blessing of being able to see your children and grandchildren loving and being loved is invaluable. The riches of the world pale in comparison.  No discount wanted there.

I’m thinking that I could get used to this senior discount thing, but next time I hope it is more than just two dollars.

Ecclesiastes 12:13

All has been heard; the end of the matter is: Fear God [revere and worship Him, knowing that He is] and keep His commandments, for this is the whole of man [the full, original purpose of his creation, the object of God’s providence, the root of character, the foundation of all happiness, the adjustment to all inharmonious circumstances and conditions under the sun] and the whole [duty] for every man.

The significance of what you do before God is not measured by how many get to see what you are doing, but by the obedience to God in the doing.  John Meadth

Click  here to check out our recent e-letter. Read about a few days in the life of Beth.

John McHoul

Comments
  1. I loved this post on all accounts, being a 60 year old with married children all with children of their own. A few years ago I was in the line at a grocery store and after giving her my coupons, she cheerfully said “any more discounts?” I said “huh, no, I don’t think so” and she replied “mmmm, senior discount?” I was flabbergasted! I almost needed to sit down to think about it. So funny!

  2. johnmchoul says:

    I must admit that I did walk around the aquarium in a fit of a fog.

  3. Lori H says:

    I am so with you on this, John. 60 is only a few short months away for me but I’ve been getting some 55+ discounts for a while now. I am still not used to it. I think I am going to fight this aging nonsense as long as possible. 🙂

  4. johnandjo says:

    Well said John – you got there well, well ahead of me I might add! 🙂

  5. lesampson says:

    Just got my first (unsolicited) at Chik-fil-a. I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. Then I proceeded to leave my purse there hanging on a chair. We drove an hour to the church my husband pastors. I spent an hour printing bulletins, then reached for my purse… Praise God, it was still hanging on the chair, but then there was another two hours of driving to rescue it and get back home. I decided they knew what they were doing and have embraced my new status by asking for my discount at other places 🙂

Leave a Reply

