A NEW HOUSE and A NEW WELL or GOODBYE LEAKY, STINKY, MUDDY TENT

Posted: August 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

I dislike rain.  I know we need it, I know droughts are terrible things but I don’t like rain.  As a runner I hate puddles that ruin my running shoes.  As a driver I hate that I occasionally splash a pedestrian who has worked so hard to keep clean and dry.  I hate rain because my roof leaks in spite of two hard working group that have attempted to fix it.  I hate the mud, the mess, the dreariness.

These are inconveniences, silly things that don’t matter.  The real reason I hate rain is that people living around me are so negatively affected by it.  Tents and small houses have mud floors.  These people get wet.  Their belongings get moldy, their children sit in the mud and everything they call home gets dirty and wet.

But this week there is one less!!!!  One less family in a moldy, stinky tent.  One less family with a mud floor.  One less family getting rained on.

Olez is a middle-aged woman with a lot on her plate.  She first came to our field hospital when her granddaughter, an infant, got stepped on in their tent.  Olez is raising this infant because her daughter, the baby’s mother, died in the earthquake.  She is also raising her severely handicapped 8 year old boy, has a deaf/mute son, a sick husband and at the time we met her another sick son who has since died.

A nurse volunteering with Heartline after the earthquake  fell in love with baby Rose and Olez.  Lise Budreau’s persistent love and care for them has made a difference.

Olez would come weekly and pick up infant formula for her granddaughter.  Lise also sent money and supplies for her.  I had no idea until I went to her tent just how poor this family was and how much they were dealing with.

Olez and her family were given one of the Heartline Houses in Corail.  I offered to help move some of the family’s belongings and was once again taken back at the sight of how this family lived.  Cynde Knutson and I hauled an old, broken bike with one wheel, tubs of dirty, old clothing, and a child sized filthy wheel chair to my pick up truck and off we went to the new house.  Most of us would have considered her belongings trash.

Fittingly the new house is on Jerusalem Road!  We twisted, turned and rocked while we made our way through the labyrinth of roads in Corail toward the five  Heartline houses.  They are beige and shine against the mountain.  Good thing or I would still be going through the maze of streets to find them.

Finally we met up with the rest of Olez’s family at their new, sweet house.  It was cool, even in the Haitian afternoon.  A table and chairs, a family bed, a handicapped boy on the floor, a well outside, a septic system being put in.  A better life.   A drier life.  A home to call their own rather than a squatter’s tent.

We laughed, we rejoiced, we chatted, we were delighted.  Baby Rose ran in and out of the new house.

That night it rained again.  I grumbled and stated to my visiting friend Cynde that I dislike rain.  Ever optimistic she stated,  “One less family is in that rain tonight, Olez and her family are dry!”

That’s often how change is made – one family at a time.

Beth McHoul

FROM JOHN:

One person can make a difference.  Lise Budreau, the Heartline volunteer, cared enough to not let go.  She cared enough to be proactive and to personally support Olez and her family.  She cared enough to speak to us several times of Olez and of her situation and so when we were considering families for the new houses Olez and her family were among the five, largely because one person cared enough to not let go.

One person can make a difference and that one person can be YOU.

Thank you for your support of Heartline.  YOU are making a difference.

The tent city that Olez and family lived in

Their tent

Lise with Olez’s handicapped child. Olez was forty-eight when she gave birth to him

Ratty old wheelchair. We will get another one for them

Rose, Olez’s grand daughter, who she is raising because her mother, Olez’s daughter, was killed in the earthquake.

Beth and Cynde moving Olez, family, and possessions to one of the Heartline Houses

Olez and helper checking out the pump drilled and installed by Living Water International on the Heartline property. This is a public well for the community.

Comments
  1. kathy says:

    Wow. How can we build more house like that for others?

  2. johnmchoul says:

    I wish that it was easy. First land must be purchased, which can take some time just to find and then the house can be built. Building the house is the easy part.

  3. lise says:

    I love you guys. I’m have been so blessed to have you in my life. You unending love for all thing Haiti moves others (like myself) to want to become more connected, to want to understand more how we can play a role. You let people into your lives, you open up your hearts to so many and I for one am so grateful for having you there to help me help little rose and her family. You both exemplify for me what loving unconditionally those around you, humanity means. Thank you…

  4. Terri Urban says:

    Hi John and Beth,
    Ok, you know what I am about to ask! What about Figi and her family? Has she been able to move in to one of the new homes yet?

    Every time I here of rain or a hurricane or tropical storm passing near Haiti I always think of all the folks living in tents and how hard the rain makes their lives.

    It is good to here this story of baby Rose , Olez, and her family. Thank you for serving.

    All for Him,

    Terri U in Colorado Springs

    • johnmchoul says:

      They have started to move in but have not yet moved in totally. TODAY, the money was given for the latrines. We had issues because we had planned on a septic but it was to close to the well and we had to make it a basin, which won’t leak into the ground.
      We had to work to get a good price for the job. The first price was 9K and the second price was 6K but we were able to get it for less. The latrine should be up and usable in 7-10 days. Then I hope Figi and her family will completely move into the house

  5. […] days ago we posted a blog in which we highlighted Olez and her family.   In response to that blog, Pastor Steve McClelland of the West Brattleboro Baptist Church in […]

  6. […] can read one of Heartline’s stories about Corail here. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a comment